Headway Essex

Providing Brain Injury Care & Support

2017 Support Groups

The Headway Support Groups are there for people living with brain injury, their carers and professionals involved with acquired brain injury.

 

“It is fantastic to be able to talk and listen to others and learn.  I was in a completely bereaved state – you do not get used to it, but with Headway’s help you adjust”

 

Headway has support groups across the county of Essex.  These groups are mostly in the evening and are well supported.  People come to the support groups for many reasons, some to chat to others in a similar situation as themselves, to gain information and advice and others to listen to the varied talks which are given both from individuals with brain injury or organisations and professionals all working in the field of acquired brain injury.

 

The people who attend the support groups are at different levels of rehabilitation and ability.

 

Our Support groups are a place to feel comfortable, they are very welcoming and the people who come are always happy to see new visitors.  Many friendships are built within each of our support groups.

 

If you wish to attend a Headway Support Group, please contact the Community Support Team on 01206 768797 or email communitysupport@headwayessex.org.uk

 

South Essex

 

Tuesday 13th June 2017

Tuesday 11th July 2017 - Social Event at Barnards Farm, West Horndon - contact office for details

NO MEETING IN AUGUST

Tuesday 12th September 2017

Tuesday 10th October 2017

Tuesday 14th November 2017

Tuesday 12th December - Social Event - contact office for details

 

Venue: St John's Ambulance South Essex HQ, Sandon Road (off High Road), Pitsea SS14 1TH

Time: 7pm - 9pm

There is a charge of £2.50 per person or £5 per family.

 

Mid Essex

 

Tuesday 20th June 2017

Tuesday 18th July 2017 - Social Event - contact office for details

NO MEETING IN AUGUST

Tuesday 19th September

Tuesday 17th October

Tuesday 21st November

Tuesday 19th December

 

Venue: Hatfield Peverel Village Hall, Maldon Road, Hatfield Peverel CM3 2HP

Time: 10.30am - 12.30pm

There is a charge of £2.50 per person or £5 per family. 

 

North East Essex

 

Tuesday 6th June 2017

Tuesday 4th July 2017 - Social event - contact office for details

NO MEETING IN AUGUST

Tuesday 5th September 2017

Tuesday 3rd October 2017

Tuesday 7th November 2017

Tuesday 5th December 2017

 

Venue: The Headway Centre, 2 Boxted Road, Colchester CO4 5JD

Time: 7:00pm - 9:00pm

There is a change of £2.50 per person or £5 per family.

 

West Essex

 

 

Tuesday 27th June 2017 

Tuesday 25th July 2017 - Social event - contact office for details

NO MEETING IN AUGUST

 

*Please note that from September onwards the group will meet 10.00am - 12.00 midday

Tuesday 26th September 2017

Tuesday 24th October 2017

Tuesday 28th November 2017

NO MEETING IN DECEMBER

 

Venue: Jack Silley Pavillion, Stonards Hill Recreation Ground, Epping CM16 6SP

Time: 10.30am-12.30pm (note from September 10.00am - 12.00 midday)

There is a charge of £2.50 per person or £5 per family, 

 

 

Carers Support Groups

 

North East Essex

 

Friday 23rd June 2017 

Friday 28th July 2017  - Social Event - there is a time change for this social event - 12.00 midday - 2.00pm - contact office for details

NO MEETING IN AUGUST

Friday 22nd September 2017

Friday 27th October 2017

Friday 24th November 2017

NO MEETING IN DECEMBER

 

Venue:  The Headway Centre, 2 Boxted Road, Colchester CO4 5JD

Time: 10.30am - 12.30pm

There is a charge of £2.50 per person or £5 per family

 

South Essex

 

Thursday 15th June 2017 - Pamper Session - contact office for details

Thursday 27th July 2017 - Social Event - contact office for details

NO MEETING IN AUGUST

Thursday 28th September 2017

Thursday 26th October 2017

Thursday 23rd November 2017

NO MEETING IN DECEMBER



Venue: Benfleet Methodist Church, High Road, South Benfleet SS7 5LH

Time: 7pm - 9pm

There is a change of £2.50 per person or £5 per family.

 

West Essex

 

Tuesday 13th June 2017 

Tuesday 11th July 2017  - Social Event - contact office for details

NO MEETING IN AUGUST

 

*Please note that from September onwards the group will meet from 12.30pm - 2.00pm

Tuesday 26th September 2017

Tuesday 24th October 2017

Tuesday 28th November 2017

NO MEETING IN DECEMBER

 

Venue:  Voluntary Action, 323 High Street, Epping CM16 4BZ

Time: 10.30am - 12.00pm (from September onwards 12.30pm - 2.00pm)

There is a charge of £2.50 per person or £5 per family. 

 

Life After Brain Injury Social Group

 

We now hold a regular follow up social group for Headway clients who have previously attended the Life After Brain Injury Group (LABIG) and the new Acquired Brain Injury Education and Vocation (ABIEV) programme. Please see below the details for this group. 

 

Thursday 22nd June 2017

Thursday 27th July 2017 - Social Event - contact office for details

Thursday 28th September 2017

Thursday 26th October 2017

Thursday 23rd November 2017

NO MEETING IN DECEMBER

 

Venue: Benfleet Methodist Church, High Road, South Benfleet SS7 5LH

Time: 1.00pm - 3.00pm 

There is a charge of £2.50 per person or £5.00 per family. 

Donate to Headway Essex
 

 

For details of our upcoming Support Group meetings please click here.